Hull YFC

Iona Dyson

(Team Leader)

Iona, originally from Bristol, joined us from Edinburgh in 2019 with her husband Ian and their three children. Iona lived in Edinburgh for 15 years and whilst there studied and worked in the field of Community Education engaging with people from a range of ages and backgrounds within various community based projects.

Ian Dyson

(Team Leader)

After a previous stint with Hull YFC back in 2003, Ian came back again in 2020 and this time with his family. Whilst in Edinburgh he worked for a Christian community project on a housing scheme in west Edinburgh before co-ordinating ‘Inspiring Leith’ an asset based community project in Leith with Bethany Christian Trust and Inspiring Scotland. Ian supported locals to begin numerous groups and ideas for all ages and individuals to create a stronger sense of belonging and empowerment.

Emma Newby

(Family Support)

Emma is originally from Kent, but moved to Hull after marrying Rich. She completed her Masters in Social Work at Hull Uni and in 2008 began working part-time as our Family Support Worker. Emma is currently developing opportunities to support the families of the children and young people who attend our weekly activities.

Richard Newby

(Enterprise Development)

Richard is originally from Ludlow on the Welsh border. He is married to Emma and they have two daughters; Freya and Amber. Before joining us, he spent a year working with street children in Bolivia with Youth With A Mission. He began working with us in 2005 as his placement whilst studying on a Youth and Ministry Diploma course. He finished his studies and has been working with us ever since.

Jill Keegan


Jill joined HYFC in May 2019. Originally from over the other side of the river in Lincolnshire, I have spent most of my working life here in Hull. I started out as a civil servant but then moved to working with various local Christian organisations. I have worked in Cottingham and Bransholme and am now looking forward to getting to know the Boulevard area. I enjoy baking and have 2 two grown up kids who are my taste testers. When I have the chance, you’ll find me reading or watching films.

Click here to find out about the -